Earth and Atmospheric Sciences Scholarships

We offer several earth and atmospheric sciences scholarships. Explore our available scholarships below and apply for those that fit your specific needs.

Scholarship application


  • All undergraduate EAS scholarship applications are due March 1, 2024.
  • The Moore scholarship for fall incoming students interested in Geology application is due April 15, 2024.

Spring applications are awarded in the summer (for the Knapp Field Camp) or the fall for the next academic year, depending on the scholarship.

Required information. All applicants should return their completed scholarship application form, along with a short essay (2 pages maximum) and current transcripts (unofficial copies are acceptable) to:

Scholarship Committee
Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
Central Michigan University
Brooks Hall 314
Mount Pleasant, MI 48859

Available scholarships for incoming freshman and transfer students

Wayne and Ethel Moore Endowed Scholarship - for incoming freshmen and transfer students majoring in Geology

The Wayne and Ethel Moore Scholarship was established in 2006 to honor the memory of Wayne and Effie Moore who were prominent members of the CMU geologic community for many years. Wayne Moore served as chair and professor of geology at CMU from 1970-1987. Wayne and Effie also volunteered their time and wisdom at Big Bend National Park in west Texas. Today, this award is presented to an incoming freshman or transfer student with strong academic promise planning to major in geology. The Moore Award is renewable for a second year if the student maintains good academic standing and remains committed to a geology major with a minimum GPA of 3.0. Students who enhance diversity are especially encouraged to apply.

Available scholarships for current undergraduate students

BrownOtter Scholarship for Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

The BrownOtter Scholarship Endowment was established in 2021 by a bequest from the estate of Ivan “BrownOtter” Lacore, a 1964 CMU graduate. Mr. Lacore’s concern for clean air and clean water motivated his desire to support a renewable award for current students seeking degrees in Environmental Science, Geology, or Meteorology. Recipients must demonstrate financial need with a cumulative CMU GPA of 2.2 or greater. (FAFSA required to determine eligibility)

Pamela L. Grozdon Meteorology Endowment

The Pamela L. Grozdon Meteorology Endowment was established in 2018 by a generous gift from Pamela Grozdon, a 1977 graduate of CMU’s mathematics program. Award recipients must have a signed major in meteorology, a minimum cumulative CMU grade point average of 3.25, and demonstrated financial need. Preference will be given to students entering their undergraduate junior or senior year. (FAFSA required to determine eligibility)

Hubert Dixon Crider Scholarship

The Hubert Dixon Crider Scholarship was established in 1980 by a gift from the Muskegon Development Company. It honors the career of Hubert Crider whose many contributions in the oil industry included the first major oil discovery in the Michigan Basin. Today, this award recognizes CMU juniors and seniors with a major or minor in geology for their outstanding scholastic achievement, communication skills, and potential for a successful career in geology. Recipients are selected based the quality of their academic achievements, application essay, and interview with the EAS Scholarship Committee. Crider Awards are distributed over the fall and spring semesters of each academic year.

Thomas S. Knapp Alumni Field Camp Scholarship

The Thomas Knapp Alumni Field Camp Scholarship fund was established in 1986 by the CMU Department of Geology to support students with the appropriate background for admission to a summer Geology field camp. Knapp was an assistant professor of Geology at CMU from 1968-1976 and was responsible for the layout of the rock wall southwest of Brooks Hall. Knapp scholarships of up to $1,000 assist geology students to complete their capstone field camp course in preparation for graduation and professional careers.

Martin Steinbis Endowed Scholarship in Geology and Environmental Science

The Martin Steinbis Endowed Scholarship in Geology and Environmental Science was established in 2012 by a generous gift from Martin Steinbis, a 1975 CMU geology graduate. It provides financial support to CMU juniors and seniors majoring in geology and environmental science. Steinbis Scholarships of up to $2,500 per semester are awarded based on: 1) leadership and teamwork skills, 2) scholastic performance, 3) potential for career success, 4) department participation, and 5) demonstrated hard work and ambition. Preference is given to students demonstrating financial need and preparing for a career in the energy sector. (FAFSA required to determine eligibility)