Skip to main content

About the Board of Trustees

Central Michigan University's Board of Trustees consists of eight members appointed by Michigan's governor with the consent of the State Senate and with authority granted through the state constitution. The board governs the business and affairs of the university.

One of its most important duties is to appoint and evaluate the university president. CMU's president serves as an ex officio, non-voting, member of the board. The trustees also clarify the institution's mission, approve long-range plans, assess the educational program, ensure financial solvency, preserve institutional independence, maintain the relationship between the university and the public it serves, and protect and preserve the assets of the institution.

In addition, the board retains ultimate responsibility for academic matters and reserves authority over such areas as the mission and goals of the institution; admissions and retention policies; policies governing intercollegiate programs; faculty promotions, sabbatical leaves and tenure; establishing fees; accepting gifts; naming facilities; and a number of other areas.

Board members do not receive compensation, although their necessary travel and other expenses related to CMU business are reimbursed by the university. See other areas of this site for more details on the Board of Trustees, such as meeting dates, agendas, minutes, and members' names and addresses.