Skip to main content

Faculty Highlight Stories

Each month a set of faculty stories are highlighted on the Office of Research and Graduate Studies homepage.  This page serves as an archive for all faculty highlight stories, broken down by academic year and college.  Explore and learn about the incredible work being done by CMU faculty!

2023-24 stories

Cole Bartels, School of Music

Marco Schirripa, School of Music

Aiden Kosciesza, School of Communication, Journalism, and Media

Jason Taylor, Economics

Adam Berman, Special Education

Chris Hamlyn, Athletic Training

Sergey Soshnikov, Public Health

Cloning Machine, College of Medicine

Andrew Wehrman, History

David Weindorf, Office of Research & Graduate Studies

Anthony Chappaz, Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Rasha Gargees,  Department of Computer Science

2022-23 stories

Kirsten Weber, Communication
Will Anderson
, Broadcast & Cinematic Arts
James Wallace, Theatre & Dance
Heather Trommer-Beardslee, Theatre & Dance
Ann Dasen, Keeley Stanley-Bohn, Heather Trommer-Beardslee & Jay Batzner, Theatre & Dance and Music
Steve Leeper
, Art & Design
Kirsten Weber, Communication

Jason Taylor, Economics
John Gawryk, Finance & Law

Dawn Decker, Teacher & Special Education
Gina McGovern
, Human Development & Family Studies
Robert Dvorak, Recreation, Parks & Leisure Services Administration
Krystyna Nowak-Fabrykowski, Teacher & Special Education
Scott Roberts, Teacher & Special Education
Troy Hicks, Teacher & Special Education

Nailya DeLellis, Health Sciences
Katie Strong, Communication Sciences & Disorders

Sharon Kukla Acevedo, Politics, Society, Justice and Public Service
Kathy Donohue, History, World Languages, and Cultures
Susan Jacob
, Psychology
Rising Waters, Center for Learning through Games and Simulations
Jeffrey Weinstock, English Language & Literature
Susan Grettenberger, Politics, Society, Justice, and Public Service
Center for Learning through Games and Simulations

Chanseok Jeong, Engineering & Technology
Jennifer Schisa, Biology
Scott McNaught & Tracy Galarowicz, Biology
Wiline Pangle, Biology
Jennifer Schisa, Biology
John Allen
, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
Jason Keeler, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
Juan Peralta, Physics
Steve Juris, Biology

2021-22 stories

Heather Trommer-Beardslee, Theater & Dance, Experimental Exercise
School of Music, Pandemic Performances
Will Anderson, Broadcast & Cinematic Arts, Highlighting History
Will Anderson, Broadcast & Cinematic Arts, President Award
Trevor Diehl, Broadcast & Cinematic Arts, Provost Award
Will Anderson, Broadcast & Cinematic Arts, Attention Audio Dramatists!

Visit again for CBA stories  

Jeanneane Wood-Nartker, Interior Design Program, Deliberate Design
Michael Mamp, Fashion Merchandising & Design Program, Student Success
Michael Mamp, Fashion Merchandising & Design Program, Distinguished Designer
Counseling Program, Admirable Achievements

Katie Strong, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Reinventing Research
Jamie Haines, Physical Therapy Program, Experimental Exercise

Natalie Douglas, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Communication Collaboration
Stacey Lim, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Hearing Hindrance
Yunfang Zheng, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Heard It Here First!
Sarah Grinn, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Helping Your Hearing

Emma Powell, Political Science and Public Administration, Community Care

Center for Learning through Games & Simulations, Monumental Moment
Jeffrey Weinstock, English Language & Literature, Prolific Publications
Lane Demas and Jennifer Liu, History, Teaching in Taiwan
Cathy Willermet, Sociology, Anthropology & Social Work, Teeth: Signs of Stress

Michael Conway, Provost Award

Tao Zheng, Geography and Environmental Studies, Counting Carbon

Thomas Gehring, Biology, President Award
Anna Monfils, Biology, Planting Potential
CMU Biological Station part of new Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO, Beneficial Biospheres
Koblar Alan Jackson & Juan Peralta, Physics, Funding for Physics
Cynthia Damer, Biology, Protein Precision
Daelyn Woolnough, Institute for Great Lakes Res., Mussels on the Move!

2020-21 stories

Will Anderson, Broadcast & Cinematic Arts, Audio Dramas Awarded

Will Anderson, Broadcast & Cinematic Arts, Audio Drama Revival

Robert Lindahl, School of Music, Trusty Trombone

Eric Limarenko, Heather Trommer-Beardslee, Dr. Jay Batzner, Ann Dasen, Paul Collins, College of the Arts and Media, Successfully Slipping By‚Äč

Matthew Wilson, Marketing, Benefiting Business

Deborah Gray, Marketing, Awarding Excellence

Matthew Johnson, Educational Leadership, Classy Collaboration

Michael Mamp, Fashion Merchandising & Design, Outstanding Efforts

Susanne Wroblewski, Fashion, Interior Design & Merchandising, Research but make it Fashionable

Troy Hicks, Teacher Education & Professional Development, Cover to Cover Confidence

Cheryl Geisthardt, Human Development & Family Studies, What about the Children?

Katie Strong & Natalie Douglas, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Strengthening Socialization

Mark Cwiek, School of Health Sciences, Open and Honest

Sarah Domoff, Psychology, Truth about Television

Sara Moselener, Philosophy & Religion, Power after Purity

Carlin Borsheim-Black, English Language & Literature, Equipping Educators

Brittany Fremion, History, Power of History

Jeffrey Weinstock, English Language & Literature, Expert on Edgar

Jay Martin, History, Highlighting CMU's History

James Gerhart, Psychology, The Power of Resilience

Neli Ragina, College of Medicine, Call to Action

Ziad Daoud, College of Medicine, Ruthless Resistance

Zachary Klukkert, College of Medicine, Fossil Frenzy

Prasanth Yanambaka, Engineering & Technology, Safe & Secure

Mallary Wacker, Biology, Innovative Impact

Jesse Eickholt & Patrick Seeling, Computer Science, Classy Collaboration

Katrina Piatek-Jimenez & Ana Dias, Mathematics, Gender Equity in Math

Kumar Yelamarthi, Engineering & Technology, Communicating with Cars, Building Blocks for Blockchain

George Perdikakis, Physics, Cosmic Connection

Donghyun Shin, Engineering & Technology, Enhancing Energy Storage

Alfredo Estrade, Physics, Isotope Innovation

David Zanatta, Biology, Musseling Milestones

Valeri Petkov, Physics, Analyzing Arsenic

Daria Kluver & Wendy Robertson, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences, Great Lake Resilience

Jason Keeler, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences, Lake Air & Thunderstorms

Wendy Robertson, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences, Tree Mortality & Swamps, Oh My!

Jennifer Schisa, Biology, Power of the Protein

Matthew Redshaw, Physics, Physics: Fun & Games