Skip to main content

Fly America Act

US Flag Air Carriers

In order for a flight to be in compliance with the Fly America Act, the code of a U.S. flag air carrier must be noted as part of the flight number on the airline ticket, flight coupon (boarding pass*), or passenger receipt. Each airline has a two letter alpha code. For example, United Airlines has a code of "UA." On an airline ticket, boarding pass, or passenger receipt, this two digit code is designated just to the left of the flight number. From this list, you will be able to compare airline codes on the ticket with those on the list and thereby be able to ascertain whether or not the flight is on a US Flag air carrier.

A detailed list of U.S. flag air carriers is below:

  • AirTran Airways (FL)
  • Alaska Airlines (AS)
  • American Airlines (AA)
  • Continental Airlines (CO)
  • Delta Airlines (DL)
  • Frontier Airlines (F9)
  • Hawaiian Airlines (HA)
  • JetBlue Airlines (B6)
  • Midwest Express (YX)
  • Southwest Airlines (WN)
  • Spirit Airlines (NK)
  • United Airlines (UA)
  • USAirways (US)
  • Virgin America (VX)

*Boarding pass without passenger receipt is not acceptable for reimbursement.