Skip to main content

Academic Planning Council

The Academic Planning Council reviews and evaluates proposals involving new graduate degrees, programs, and certificates, and undergraduate degrees, majors, minors, and certificates prior to their submission to the relevant Senate Review Committee. The first step in the approval process is to complete the "Degree and Program - New: Need and Resource Allocation Evaluation (Form 1)" in the Curriculum Management tool of the  Watermark Curriculum Strategy online system (cmich login required). Guidelines for the development of new undergraduate, master's, and doctoral programs are found in the  Curricular Authority Document (cmich login required).

Once the program receives final approval from the Academic Senate, the Curriculum and Instructional Support (CIS) office will submit proposals for new programs to the Academic Affairs Officers Committee of the Michigan Association of State Universities (MASU) for review. If the proposal is for a new degree, the Board of Trustees approval is required prior to submission to MASU.

The APC is also charged with reviewing new designators. The new designator form is available in the Curriculum Management tool of the Watermark Curriculum Strategy online system. The process for requesting new designators can be found in the Curriculum Authority Document

In addition to reviewing new program proposals and new designators, the APC is informed of programs seeking specialized accreditation/reaccreditation. The guidelines provide information on CMU's specialized accreditation/reaccreditation process. The Request to Seek Accreditation/Reaccreditation form should be submitted to the APC at least six (6) months prior to the date self-study documents are due to the accrediting agency.


Name, UnitName, Unit
Jefferson Campbell, College of the Arts and Media Christopher Moberg, College of Business Administration
Paula Lancaster, College of Education and Human Services
 Thomas Masterson, Jr, The Herbert H and Grace A Dow College of Health Professions
Richard Rothaus, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
 David Ford, College of Science and Engineering
Tina Thompson, College of Medicine
 Kathy Irwin, CMU LIbraries
Kaleb Patrick, Innovation and Online
 David Weindorf, Office of Research and Graduate Studies
Shawan Patterson-Stephens, VP & Chief Diversity Officer
 Tracy Davis, Academic Senate Chair
Katrina Piatek-Jimenez, Academic Past Chair
 Ann Dasen, Academic Senate Senator
Aparna Lhila, Academic Senate Senator
 Blaine Long, Academic Senate Senator
Deborah Silkwood-Sherer, Academic Senate Senator
 Grace VanDeMark, Academic Senate Senator
Nancy Mathwes, Provost
 David Patton, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Ray Christie, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Administration
 Robert Roe, Academic Planning and Analysis
Pete Ross, Curriculum and Instructional Support

2023-2024 meeting dates and deadlines

Sep. 15, 2023Sep. 7, 2023
Oct. 6, 2023Sep. 28, 2023
Oct. 20, 2023Oct. 12, 2023
Nov. 3, 2023Oct. 26, 2023
Nov. 17, 2023Nov. 9, 2023
Dec. 1, 2023Nov. 21, 2023
Dec. 15, 2023Dec. 7, 2023
Jan. 5, 2024Dec. 20, 2023
Jan. 19, 2024Jan. 11, 2024
Feb. 2, 2024Jan. 25, 2024
Feb. 16, 2024Feb. 8, 2024
Mar. 1, 2024Feb 22, 2024
Mar. 15, 2024Mar. 7, 2024
Apr. 5, 2024Mar. 28, 2024
Apr. 19, 2024Apr. 11, 2024
May 3, 2024Apr. 25, 2024