Skip to main content

CMU Excellence in Teaching Awards

Central Michigan University has a long and proud tradition of excellence in teaching. The faculty of Central Michigan University has maintained this tradition by setting high standards in demanding competence of all its members. At the same time, however, there are occasions when faculty members exceed the usual standards and expectations.  

The Academic Senate believes that such occasions and individuals should receive special recognition and has therefore established the annual CMU Excellence in Teaching Awards, directed by the Excellence in Teaching Awards Committee (ETAC) and supported by the Office of the Provost and the Office of Curriculum and Instructional Support.  (CMICH Login Required)

Lorrie Ryan Memorial CMU Excellence in Teaching Award 

Established in 2006 in memory of Dr. Lorrie Ryan by her family and friends, this award is used to recognize CMU Excellence in Teaching Award recipients who particularly embody the characteristics in Dr. Ryan's teaching practice. Dr. Ryan was an Associate Professor in Human Environmental Studies and an awardee of the 2002 Excellence in Teaching Award. She was passionate about knowing her students; always seeking to build community, respect, and rapport in her classes in order to establish a positive foundation for learning.  

CMU Student Choice Excellence in Teaching Award 

The CMU Student Choice Excellence in Teaching Award is facilitated by the student members of the CMU Excellence in Teaching Committee (ETAC) and in coordination with the Excellence in Teaching Award timeline. The student ETAC members organize and complete the entire process under the supervision of the committee chairperson.  An email announcement with nomination instructions is sent out to the entire student body.         

Excellence in Teaching Award Criteria

All regular, fixed-term, and CMU-employed College of Medicine faculty with a minimum of two consecutive years teaching at CMU are eligible for selection. Additional criteria include:

  • Tenure-track faculty must teach a minimum of 9 credits per academic year.
  • Fixed-term faculty must teach a minimum of 12 credits per academic year.
  • College of Medicine faculty must meet a minimum of 50% allocation within the Education and Training component of the CARE Model.
  • Minimum of 4.25 average EOC score or 4.06 average College of Medicine score.

Faculty nominees meeting these criteria are then asked to provide their teaching philosophy, two peer recommendations, and three student recommendations as part of the annual award selection process. All application materials are submitted through online forms, made available in Fall each year. For more information, review the Excellence in Teaching Awards Committee Operations. (CMICH Login Required)

Excellence in Teaching Award Winners

Past winners by year: 1985 - present

For further information on this award or the nomination process, please contact us at (989) 774-3615 or