Skip to main content

Higher Learning Commission Accreditation

Institutional accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission, also called regional accreditation, provides assurance to prospective students and other constituents that course credits and degrees earned from the institution meet quality standards of higher education. Regional accreditation has been granted to more than 2500 higher education institutions throughout the United States. Accreditation is recognized by the United States Department of Education and federal financial aid is available only to students attending schools that are accredited.

Central Michigan University was first accredited in 1915 by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), as Central State Teachers College and has been accredited since, with the exception of 1922-23. NCA accredited the first master’s program in 1957 and approved the offering of doctoral programs in 1992. The last comprehensive evaluation took place in 2015-2016 by the Higher Learning Commission, at which time CMU received reaffirmation of accreditation for 10 years. The current accrediting body is now known as the Higher Learning Commission.

Students sitting in front of library