Skip to main content

University Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council


To pursue policies and strategies that achieve equity and inclusion across social differences in power in order to have Central Michigan University realize the creative synergies and intellectual insights and excellence that come from fully engaging the power of differences.


Formed of designated representatives from each academic college and vice-presidential unit, SGA and P&A assemblies, to gain consistency and participation across the institution, help promote and select grant and prize recipients, help design and implement local unit initiatives and reporting, disseminate and act on diversity data, build participation in DEI activities, keep units informed and share unit issues and needs.

Current council members

  • Amanda Scherr, Academic Planning & Analysis
  • Ann Kucera, University Libraries
  • Ben Andera, Academic Computing
  • Bradley Swanson, Graduate Studies
  • Cameron Wassman, Central Michigan University Police Department
  • Christi Brookes, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
  • Crina Tarasi, College of Business Administration
  • Danny McQuarters Jr., Office for Institutional Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Dave Patton, Office of the Provost
  • Dennis Armistead, Faculty Personnel Services
  • Donnesha Blake, Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion/College of Medicine
  • Greg Zimmerman, College of Health Professions
  • James Span, Jr., Multicultural Academic Support Services
  • Jenna Cornish, Faculty and Staff Affairs
  • Jonathon Russell, College of the Arts and Media
  • Jonathan Webb, Facilities Management
  • Kathy Irwin, University Libraries
  • Larry Klaus, Central Michigan University Police Department
  • Lori Hella, Human Resources
  • Mackenzie Miller, Alumni Relations & Constituent Engage
  • Matt Johnson, Multicultural, Diversity, and Educational Council
  • Matthew Brandom-Warren, Innovation and Online
  • Megan Goodwin, College of Education and Human Services
  • Michael Guy, Recruitment/Retention
  • Naga Shilpa Alamuri, College of Business Administration
  • Nikita Murry, Office for Institutional Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Rhonda Welsh, Detroit Office
  • Sarah Kelsey, Facilities Management
  • Sarah Katcher, University Communications
  • Shawna Patterson-Stephens, Office for Institutional Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Shellie Haut Root, Licensure, Regulatory Services & Human Capital
  • Stan Shingles, Student Affairs
  • Tracy Galarowicz, College of Science and Engineering
  • Yasas Vithanage, Residence Life
  • Student Representatives