Skip to main content

Campus Diversity Gala

Launched under the vision of Dr. Shawna Patterson-Stephens, Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer, the Annual Diversity Gala is the perfect end to the academic year, where all who share in the CMU mission can come together to celebrate achievements toward inclusion, equity and belonging. Individuals who are formally affiliated with CMU as well as change-makers within the region are recognized for their outstanding work in the area of social justice and change.

One of the night's greatest honors is the presentation of the Dr. Diane E. Newby Award for Inclusive Excellence in Education, which recognizes a nominated faculty member whose work reflects CMU's diversity principles. The award is named for the late Diane E. Newby, professor emeritus in Teacher Education, a longtime educator within Teacher Education and Professional Development.