Skip to main content

ADVANCE Catalyst Award

Central Michigan University is committed to addressing barriers to institutional success for women in STEM. We define institutional success as successful recruitment, retention, promotion, and equitable salaries for women at our institution. In August 2019, CMU was one of only six higher education institutions to receive the ADVANCE Catalyst Award from the National Science Foundation that year. Our university has assembled a leadership team with diverse strengths to ensure success in the project's efforts.

The goal of the National Science Foundation's (NSF) ADVANCE program is to increase the representation and advancement of women in academic science and engineering careers, thereby contributing to the development of a more diverse science and engineering workforce.

Leadership team

Principle Investigator (PI):Tracy Galarowicz, Ph.D. | Associate Dean, College of Science and Engineering
Co-PI:Katrina Piatek-Jimenez |Professor of Mathematics
Co-PI:Frim Ampaw | Professor of Educational Leadership
Co-PI:Lisa Gandy | Department Chair of Computer Science


Faculty advisory board members



College of Science and Engineering
BiologyAnna Monfils
ChemistryJanice Tomasik, Advisory Board Chair
Earth and Atmospheric SciencesDaria Kluver
Engineering and TechnologyTerry Lerch
Geography and Environmental StudiesBenjamin Heumann
MathematicsAna Dias
PhysicsVeronica Barone
Statistics and Data SciencesChin-I Cheng
College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences   
PsychologyKimberly O'Brien
SociologyMary Senter
College of Arts and Media   
Communication and Dramatic ArtsKirsten Weber
College of Business Administration   
EconomicsAparna Lhila